Maharaja Surajmal Institute of Technology

Annual Day-2019: A Report

Maharaja Surajmal Institute of Technology located in Janakpuri, New Delhi, affiliated to Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University; New Delhi celebrated its Annual Day on January 12, 2019. Prof. Devi Singh, Former Director, IIM – Lucknow, graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. The Hon'ble Chief Guest Prof. Devi Singh , Sh. S.P. Singh (President, SMES), Sh.Kaptan Singh (Sr. Vice President , SMES) Sh. Ajit Singh Choudhary (Secretary, SMES), Mr. Rajpal Solanki, (Treasurer, SMES) , Mrs. Esha Jakhar (Vice President, SMES), Prof. K.P. Choudhary (Director, MSIT), Prof. Rachita Rana (Director, MSI) and Prof. Ashok Oberoi (Director, Placements) inaugurated the function by lighting the lamp.





Sh. S.P. Singhji, President, SMES extended a warm welcome to the Hon'ble Chief Guest, parents, students and all the invitees on the occasion of the Annual day 2019.



Prof. K.P. Choudhary, Director, MSIT welcomed the chief guest and the dignitaries and delivered the Annual report. He presented the achievements of the Institute, academic as well as co-curricular, and wished success to the students.



The Hon'ble chief guest addressed the gathering and promised to extend all possible help for further development of the Institute. He congratulated the institute for its all round development and the award winning students. He said that students should follow their passion and strive for excellence in the chosen field.



The Annual Prize Distribution function was a moment of pride and honour for all the winners and achievers of the Institute. The students who secured first, second and third position were awarded with certificates and prize money for their commendable performance in academics and sports activity.



On the occasion of annual day, the Institute rewards the best faculty on the basis of their performance and sincerity. The parameters which are considered for deciding award are teaching methodology, other academic responsibility taken up, co-curricular activities, extra lecture conducted, additional work handled, FDPs, Workshop, STTPs attended or organized, number of paper presented, punctuality and regularity. The "Best Faculty award" includes citation and amount of Rs 31,000/- (Rupees Thirty one thousand only). The "Best Faculty award" includes citation and amount of Rs 31,000/- (Rupees Thirty one thousand only). The award for the year 2018 was conferred to Dr. Yogender Arya, Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, MSIT by the Hon'ble Chief guest for his outstanding contributions to the Institute.



The Institute also announced "Best Employee award" to recognize contribution of the employees of the Institute. The award was instated to encourage and motivate the staff members to work effectively. The criterion for the award is based on parameters such as punctuality, sincerity and demonstration of excellence in their field of work. The best employee award was given to Ms. Meena Chawla, General Assistant, by Hon'ble Chief guest for her contribution towards the Institute.



The role of research in an academic institution is significant for its sustainability and development, and it is imperative to have knowledge-driven growth based on innovation. The quest for knowledge is the basic principle behind research. The quality of research work directly translates to the quality of teaching and learning in the classroom, thereby benefiting the students, the society and the country. Keeping in view the impact of research, with the "Excellence in Research" award, Maharaja Surajmal Institute of Technology recognizes faculty for their outstanding contribution in the field of research. The awards are given under various categories such as research publications in SCI AND SCI-E journals, sponsored projects, consultancy, Patents and copyright. For year 2018, five faculties, namely, Prof. Meena Tushir, Department of EEE, Dr. Yogendra Arya, Department of EEE, Dr. Puneet Azad, Department of ECE, Ms. Deepshikha Yadav, Department of ECE and Ms. Jyoti Khurana, Department of IT were awarded with citation and prize money of Rs 5000/- each by the Hon'ble Chief guest.





The event concluded with vote of thanks delivered by Sh. Ajit Singh Choudhary, Secretary, Surajmal Memorial Education Society.